ESCAP Countries with Special Needs

Since its founding in 1984 the membership of Economic and Social Commission has grown to 53 members and 9 associate members. The Asia-Pacific region conjures a picture of dynamic fast growing countries, but that picture masks the fact that 36 of the 58 economies in the region are considered as countries with special needs. This group includes least developed countries, landlocked developing countries and small island developing States and Economies.

Some countries belong to more than one group.

Click on the country map to see details or browse countries from the lists below.

Least Developed Countries (LDCs)

Landlocked Developing Countries (LLDCs)

Small Islands Developing States (SIDS)